Project future

Submitted by NA on 2016-09-21

Hi.

WebIssues is a fine and relatively simple to use project. I'm thinking of deploying it in the company i work as a BugTracker for a couple of projects i have. I have some concerns though.

I see there are many ideas (http://wiki.mimec.org/wiki/WebIssues/Roadmap) but there is no clear indication on whether the project is active or if there are certain features selected to be implemented for the next release (whenever this may be). From what i've understood, this is a one-man show, so it solely depends on the time this one developer can spare on it. This makes the future of the project "misty", both "feature-wise" and "support-wise".

Mimec, it would be nice to have some comments from you on the future of WebIssues. The time you've already spend on this project is much appreciated. It's quality is much better than other free bug trackers i've tried, more user-friendly and visually appealing. Understandably, real-life always takes precedence so it would be nice to know if you have time to spare on it and in general, your hopes about its future.

Thank you.

Hello,

It's true that there hasn't been a lot of activity in this project recently. Partially it's because I don't have much time for it anymore and - as you said - it's mostly a one-man show. However, the other reason is that the project is quite mature and complete feature-wise after almost 10 years of development. There is still a long list of ideas for future versions, but they are mostly "nice to have" features, not things that people can't live without. At least that's my impression from requests posted here and my own experience with using WebIssues. Also, support-wise I think that the project is still in good shape, because the documentation is quite good, the forum serves as a rich knowledge base, and I always try to help and give support when people ask for it.

Regards,
Michał

Hi,